Crazy ‘Radial Pie Chart’ Shows the Quality of Life in #1 Denmark

Thomas de Beus
Colourful Facts
Published in
2 min readMay 30, 2017

--

When I stumbled upon the chart from the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development), it baffled me. It took me a while to figure out how to decode this data visualisation.

At first, it looks like a pie chart, but the ‘pies’ aren’t representing a particular value but a category. It’s also so hard to compare between the categories because of an absence of logical order. I was also curious to see how the country where I live in (the Netherlands) compares to Denmark.

All these questions made me want to improve the chart for the better. After having contacted the people who made the chart at OECD, I knew how to prepare the data for my new visualisation.

Below you see the final version.

This is a repost and part 3 of the series Data Visualisation Redesigned for the Better.

For more redesigns and other data journalism/visualisation related articles, go to my blog:

Do you stumble upon a crappy graph? Please let me know! Cheers 🙂

--

--

Thomas de Beus
Colourful Facts

Using #ddj 👨‍💻 to help tighten the gap between reality and peoples’ perception of reality to spark ⚡️ conscious citizenship 🏛 for a better shared future 🌍