Things I Should Have Known In My 20s

Irma Laliashvili
Tea Time With Irma
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2019

--

Illustration: Alessandra De Cristofaro

We’ve all made mistakes in our 20s but we live and learn — and hopefully share! I wanted to share some of the things that I’ve learned over the last few years.

Here are some important advice I wish I had in my 20s:

It doesn’t matter what you major in. Hard work and ambition can get you the world. Without that work ethic, a degree in any field is just something on your resume. Hard work and dedication to your passions is really what gets you places.

Take care of your skin! A tan lasts for moments but your skin is with you forever. Use SPF especially on your face and opt for healthier options like sunless tanning. Also start your skin care regimen in your early 20s before you have wrinkles. I wish I would have started earlier.

Hair ages too. Between being on a budget with your hair styling tools and experimenting with hair colors, your hair will go through the ringer in your 20s. Start taking care of your hair now. One of the easiest and more important ways is with a heat protectant.

Less is more. Whether it’s makeup, perfume, or accessories, less is always more. Obviously we have the days it’s fun to get glammed up but overall simplify. I remember I used to pile on bracelets, necklaces, earrings, etc., but I feel like the older I get one statement piece or a couple delicate pieces…

--

--

Irma Laliashvili
Tea Time With Irma

Journalist and writer. Covering fashion, art, culture, travel, women’s issues, human rights and mental health. Email: irmawriter@gmail.com irmalaliashvili.com