A Fence Full of Jasmine and Joy

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature
2 min readMay 25, 2022

--

Photo by Moryt Milo

The weather turned quite hot, into the upper 90s, and the star jasmine broke out in bloom all at once along the side of the house.

The vine with its ivory-scented flowers has completely overtaken the redwood fence flowing down to the ground. The waxy leaves and star flowers have chaotically entwined themselves within the upper trellis.

It’s quite a sight stretching across the length of the fence from the front of the house to the backyard.

The flowers last for a while, and when their smell mixes with the orange and lemon citrus blooms it's olfactory heaven. The scent is particularly strong at night in the stillness of the air, exotic like a foreign country in the South Seas.

During the day the smell is much more subdued, yet whenever I go outdoors I let my face brush up against the vine to capture its aroma.

The sun window in the kitchen looks out on this spectacular sight. I have been patiently waiting for the blooms to pop open for the last few days. Now, as I stand over the sink it delights me.

I love this time of year, as the vegetables begin to grow in the garden and the flowers open like an already filled coloring book.

I feel nature’s magic everywhere.

--

--

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature

Curiosity and awareness anchor my writer’s toolbox. Nature lover. Mental health advocate. morytmilo.com