NATURE

Around My Patch

Birds and Landscape

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Tea with Mother Nature
4 min readApr 18, 2022

--

Photo by author

A blue tit. They visit my garden, which thrills me. I think they are my favourite bird, except perhaps for robins. I love the song of blackbirds. My favourite birdsong. A pair of blue tits feed in my garden. I have no idea where their nest is. I have a nesting box hidden behind the greengage tree. I don’t think they are nesting there.

Photo; Author

This is a Stonechat. I don’t see many. All our birds are losing habitat. Their song is two notes. I like hearing them, even if I don’t see many.

Photo: author

This is the English Channel from hills on the opposite side to my home. The harbor is to the left of the photo and is vast. The town, actually a city, which you see now adjoins my town and they call it a conurbation. It is the most congested area for traffic in England. I think it because all the roads meet at different junctions so an accident or breakdown brings most of the area to a standstill. I am grateful that I am separate from it.

--

--

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Tea with Mother Nature

A life lived deliberately. Degrees earned. Experience. Poet, traveler, living with life limiting illness. ko-fi.com/SharingWords.