Butterflies Soak Up the Nectar

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature
1 min readJun 11, 2022

--

Photo by Moryt Milo

I love butterflies. I had a butterfly net as a child and spent days idly chasing after Tiger swallowtails, Black swallowtails, Viceroys, Clouded sulphur, and so many other species.

I took their abundance for granted. I’d capture them and put them quietly to sleep until they died. Then I mounted them in displays and studied them.

When I became an adult and wondered why I get such a thing, especially knowing some species were struggling to survive. My lens on nature changed.

I saw each butterfly as a gift. A magnificent creature floating in the wind. A painter's palette in the sky. Landing on flowers in a garden, in a field, in the woods, or randomly flying across a tree-lined street during a walk.

I admonished myself for not understanding this as a child. I vowed to cherish them forever and fill my garden with an array of flowers, plants, and fruits to create a sanctuary.

My efforts have paid off, and the rewards of such beauty take my breath away just as they did as a child. Only now they are forever free to roam.

--

--

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature

Curiosity and awareness anchor my writer’s toolbox. Nature lover. Mental health advocate. morytmilo.com