How to Interview and Get the Stories for the Write-up

What I learned from conquering my fear of conducting interviews

--

Two people sit on chairs in a garden obviously having a conversation. On the left is a male in a white shirt on a yellow chair. On the right is a female with long dark hair on a white chair. They are near a large tree with flowers in the foreground. The images are all drawn in a cartoon like manner. The words “Interview Tips” are in bold in the top right-hand corner.
Graphic by Author (using Canva)

One of those flashes of inspiration hit me one day as I was working on my publication, Tea with Mother Nature. I wanted to help people find businesses that nurture nature connections, non-profits that work towards a healthy planet and people that give to nature in their daily lives.

I worked out my first three targets, wonderful small businesses that could use the exposure. I was already supporting the businesses and so it was easier to make the approach. After all three agreed to be interviewed, I suddenly realized that I had never conducted an interview before. I am not good at general conversation and this project mattered! I didn’t want to disappoint these business owners who I admired.

I did it anyway. I did it with a churning stomach and beating heart.

When I googled and searched Medium for interview tips, I didn’t really find anything useful to me so I resolved to write this article if they went well. I think they did.

Here are my tips for conducting an interview that will give you the stories behind the actions of your interviewee.

  1. Approach
  2. Create open-ended questions

--

--

Jane Frost (Jane Grows Garden Rooms)
Tea with Mother Nature

Jane is passionate about Australian native plants, gardening, biodiversity, food forests , nature and the Arts. Also - owner/editor of Tea with Mother Nature