I Call Him the Mud Man

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature
1 min readApr 1, 2022

--

Photo by Moryt Milo

He showed up one day. A creature made from mud and grass, with protruding plaster ears and googly blue eyes set deep into the sculpture.

In his early days, he had a deep dark dewy appearance. He looked content. He appeared to smile. His jowls were filled with delight.

Now, the poor fellow is beginning to dry out and crack. His jowls have sunken inward. His eyes have a look of astonishment. They appear to say, “Spray me with water, please, before I turn to dust and blow away.”

The mud man has fallen prey to California’s severe drought. Only his makers can save him. Perhaps in the darkness, when all are asleep, his makers will sneak out to revive him. Gently spray him with water others would consider wasteful and arbitrary. I hope they rejuvenate him.

He is whimsical. He makes you smile. He is earthy and alive.

And, I hope he survives the summer because April in California pretty much caps off the rainy season. We barely had one to begin with.

So mud man hang in there, buddy. I am rooting for your survival.

--

--

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature

Curiosity and awareness anchor my writer’s toolbox. Nature lover. Mental health advocate. morytmilo.com