It Doesn’t Have to be a Flower in a Vase

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature
2 min readApr 10, 2022

--

Photo by Moryt Milo

Sitting on top of the upright piano in a Fenton glassware pitcher is a grouping of boxwood branches. Not every vessel has to hold flowers.

When the shrubs and trees start blooming in the backyard, sweet scents permeate the air from all directions. So why not bring some of that beauty into the home?

I can never have enough greenery in my house, and the branches of perfume-scented shrubs are a wonderful option.

Over the years I hadn’t done a good job of trimming the boxwood. I neglected it, and the boxwood looked more like a gangly tree than a shrub. When I finally had it pruned, the process required a serious electrical trimmer to sawed it down. Even then, it still covers much of my bedroom windows

But with my neglect came rewards.

In the spring, with the windows open in the evening, the boxwood’s soft fragrance fills my bedroom. Mother Nature’s incense offering from the garden, no match required.

At the moment the boxwood, orange blossoms, and roses have orchestrated a concert of wonderful smells, an olfactory delight.

Bringing some of those branches inside gives me an opportunity to spread nature’s boundaries just a bit further. What a simple way to indulge in the aromas no matter where I am— in the backyard or in the house.

--

--

Moryt Milo
Tea with Mother Nature

Curiosity and awareness anchor my writer’s toolbox. Nature lover. Mental health advocate. morytmilo.com