I’ve Adopted A Garden

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Tea with Mother Nature
2 min readDec 14, 2021

With a little help from a friend

Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

It may seem odd to have a picture of a brick wall when my title is about a garden. It’s because bricks are just about all that seem to feature at present.

Behind the wall at the end of my garden is a raised flowerbed belonging to the council. All that has grown in it are weeds and a few poppies. The seedheads of the weeds would blow into my garden, causing me extra work.

I decided to turn it into a pollinator flower garden. A friend and I cleared the weeds and we have planted Mock Orange and Mallow at the back. There is a yellow flowering plant near the front which we left alone.

So we are on weed watching duty. Not that many will grow in this very cold winter. We disturbed the soil, so it is natural that any seeds present may germinate and grow, especially in the spring.

In the meantime, we shall enjoy choosing plants and flowers. It is a about a yard by two yards, so there is space for all kinds of hardy perennials. There is also a pair of Robin’s territory around this forsaken flowerbed, so I fixed a robins ‘cabin’ to the top of my wall.

Robin Birds Singing and Chirping : Beautiful Bird Sounds and Bird Song — YouTube

--

--

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Tea with Mother Nature

A life lived deliberately. Degrees earned. Experience. Poet, traveler, living with life limiting illness. ko-fi.com/SharingWords.