GARDENING | MEMORIES

My Life As A Gardener

It all started with my Grandma.

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Tea with Mother Nature
11 min readMay 17, 2022

--

Author collecting seaweed on the beach to make compost in the Caribbean. Photo Credit: Author

Despite the fact that this article talks about my gardening history, I mostly started it as a tribute to my Grandma. I wanted to honor her contribution to the part of my life where I wear the ‘gardener’ hat. My Grandma and I had a bond through gardening and it goes way back to some of my earliest memories of her.

It was my first time away from my parents for a long period of time. It was 1981 and they were traveling to China for a month, so they shipped me off to stay with my Grandmother. I was 4 years old.

I actually flew solo on a plane to see her! Yes, the airlines allowed children to fly by themselves back in those good ol’ days. I don’t think that happens anymore?

Or does it?

It was only a 30-minute flight from Calgary to Medicine Hat, in Alberta, Canada, and my Grandma was waiting for me on the other side.

I don’t know if my Grandma had the summer off, or how she managed me there for a month, but I sure spent a lot of time with her.

The most significant thing that I remember from that summer was how much time we spent in the garden. I remember digging potatoes and playing with worms. We picked peas and ate them right from the…

--

--

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Tea with Mother Nature

I seek new experiences and share my life as an artist, traveler, foodie, gardener, and serious steward of our beloved planet. Life is short, let's get busy!