Our slightly wonky walnut tree

Mother nature never fails to amaze me with her brilliance and her determination.

Mel
Tea with Mother Nature
2 min readApr 22, 2022

--

Over the years, I’ve struggled in my garden, trying hard to achieve a particular ‘look’ I was chasing at the time. Despite a strong will and constant attention, a fair amount of sweat and the occasional tear, those well-intentioned plans rarely grew into the mature reality I had hoped for.

But occasionally, mother nature would pity me and reward me with an unexpected pairing of colours or a combination of textures. Or something that she had conjured up, of her very own making: A patch of wild yellow primroses. An invasion of wild strawberries. A mix of wild poppies and bluebells. These creations far surpassed the beauty of my attempts at serious, plan-based horticulture.

Every time I come across a self-seeded sapling springing up from an unlikely spot, I stop and wonder.

I think to myself, “had I wanted to plant it there, there would be zero chance it would ever grow…”.

A couple of weeks ago, I stumbled, quite literally, over a baby fig tree, a few inches high, growing through thick tarmac on the side of a road crossing a massive 120m-high concrete dam.

Just what was it doing there?

I have a toddler oak tree in one corner of my garden, which has pushed through and then settled itself in dust-thin, root-ridden soil, slap bang between two mature ash trees.

And then, there is our slightly wonky walnut tree.

It started life in a compost heap. My husband uncovered a split walnut shell, presumably stored and then forgotten by a local squirrel. Its stem had sprouted and then sharply bent backwards as it searched for light under heavy-rotting greenery.

We were amazed to find it and planted it up, thinking it would probably not come to much.

But we were wrong.

Our wonky walnut tree, photo by Mel at GreenGardenliving.com

Five years on, it’s a beautiful specimen, its stem with a large kink, which just adds to its elegance. Its leaves form a green umbrella-like canopy during the summer months. I watch it slowly grow like one of the kids, marking the passage of time.

We can’t expect any nuts for a few more years… perhaps never… but that’s ok. It’s a perfect product of mother nature.

I hope you enjoyed this article. Thanks for reading!

Mel at greengardenliving.com.

--

--