Inspired by Nature

Reflecting on Two Years of Nature Journalling

Connecting with nature through the five senses and getting it on paper.

--

Blue Tongue (Melastoma affine) flower. Pastel drawing and photo by Author.

When I journal I get this bubble of joy within that lifts me out of the everyday and into the present. The beauty of a Nature Journal is that if you are truly in the moment and recording what you feel through the five senses, it will always help you recall and recapture those elusive mindful moments. There’s nothing quite like it.

I started my nature journal a little over two years ago and now I have the pleasure of seeing improvement in my skills as well as flipping back through the pages to relive moments of joy in nature.

The other revelation is that I have now trained my brain to see all sorts of detail that I didn’t notice in the past. Nature looks different now, in a good way. I notice textures and light and proportion without consciously trying to. My surroundings are more alive, dynamic and vital. Sometimes my fingers itch to grab a pencil or brush or pastel. Sometimes I just bask in the moment.

What is a Nature Journal?

A Nature Journal is whatever you want it to be. I like the interpretation that involves using the five senses to soak in the surroundings and inspire…

--

--

Jane Frost (Jane Grows Garden Rooms)
Tea with Mother Nature

Jane is passionate about Australian native plants, gardening, biodiversity, food forests , nature and the Arts. Also - owner/editor of Tea with Mother Nature