Shouting Out Makes Winners of Us All

In response to Coffee Challenge; Why I am pro-shoutout movement

--

Graphic by Author (using Canva)

Today a new writer commented on one of my stories. As I often do, I moseyed on over to check out her work. She had one follower, one story and 10 claps. Well, that just wouldn’t do! I followed, read, clapped and made a comment.

That got me thinking about my first days on Medium and there have been so many great “firsts” since joining the platform. Firsts mean a lot to writers. We’re all putting ourselves out there and trying to get our words read for one reason or another.

I remember the bubbles of excitement when people first started interacting with my stories, so it felt good to return the favour to Sabrina Love. I must qualify though, I wouldn’t have commented if it wasn’t a genuine comment that sprang to mind. We need to be genuine. When we’re not, it shows. This is the story:

The first story that mentioned me (exclusive of a list associated with a publication or follower thanks) was from the amazing Katie Michaelson. If you get the…

--

--

Jane Frost (Jane Grows Garden Rooms)
Tea with Mother Nature

Jane is passionate about Australian native plants, gardening, biodiversity, food forests , nature and the Arts. Also - owner/editor of Tea with Mother Nature