The Bees Where I live

There are lots of species

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Tea with Mother Nature
2 min readDec 22, 2021

--

Photo by author

In the UK we have over 250 species of bees. These consist of 24 bumblebee species, one honeybee species and the rest are made up of solitary bees.

In my garden, I get a few bumblebees and many solitary bees, mainly carpenter and masonry bees.

It has only been in the last five years that I began to notice what kind of bees were around my garden. I have planted specifically for pollinators so I never have a manicured garden.

Hollow flower stalks give homes to some solitary bees over the winter. They hibernate and lay their eggs.

I always leave garden debris on the ground, except the path — but I do let leaves stay where they fall. Garden debris gives habitat to all sorts of critters that are vital to our habitat. They turn things into soil, provide food for larger critters, and keep us fed with vegetables and fruit.

I prune my fig tree each winter and leave the branches on the ground in the wooded area of my garden. My fig tree is the only non-native in my garden. I had a large crop this year and was giving them away to friends and neighbours.

When branches of my Silver Birch tree get lopped when they intrude in my sitting area, I leave them for nature to take its course. They provide homes for solitary bees and beetles that feed on them.

Only male solitary bees have a sting. They rarely sting. Wasps will sting. I have rarely been able to photograph the bees in my garden, above is one of the few. I love seeing them and hearing them. I have unwittingly carried them to the town by which I live.

I hope those of you who read this will care about bees if you don’t already. If they die out we die out as there will be no food. Please don’t use chemicals in your gardens. If you don’t have a garden, try filling a window box. Even in a city, any flower is vital.

Butterflies too need our protection. I wrote about how I adopted a raised bed with someone who has become a friend. We are choosing plants, especially for pollinators. But I must be patient. It is dead of winter here.

The shortest day is upon us and I long for spring.

I loved this piece by Christina DeFeo;

--

--

Christine Morris Ph.D.
Tea with Mother Nature

A life lived deliberately. Degrees earned. Experience. Poet, traveler, living with life limiting illness. ko-fi.com/SharingWords.