From Garden to Kitchen

The Best Choc-mint Ice-cream Ever

This delicious choc-mint ice-cream recipe uses fresh mint from the garden.

--

Photo by Author

When I discovered this recipe, I was unprepared for the difference in flavour that using fresh mint creates. Peppermint essence is lovely, but lacks the subtle delight of mint freshly picked and infused into cream. A few experiments, tweaks and lots of yum later, I have found my perfect combination of flavours for the best choc-mint ice-cream ever!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (250ml) Cream
  • 1/3 cup fresh Mint (My favourite for this recipe is Mentha × piperita f. citrata ‘Chocolate’)
  • 100g (5.2oz) dark chocolate (I use 100g 80% cocoa and 50g 70% cocoa good quality eating chocolate — I find this combination yields a delicious dark chocolate that is just a little bitter)
  • 50g dark chocolate(I use a 70% cocoa good quality eating chocolate)
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1 Tablespoon (20ml) Castor Sugar

Method:

  1. Gently heat cream and mint in a small pan. Remove from heat JUST BEFORE the mixture boils.
  2. Add chocolate to the cream mixture and place back on a gentle…

--

--

Jane Frost (Jane Grows Garden Rooms)
Tea with Mother Nature

Jane is passionate about Australian native plants, gardening, biodiversity, food forests , nature and the Arts. Also - owner/editor of Tea with Mother Nature