Shit in the Rivers Is Not Acceptable! And Other Thoughts on Nature…

About me and my relationship with nature

--

Photo by Tien Vu Ngoc on Unsplash

Today BBC News reported that Thames Water’s overflow system released 2 billion litres of untreated sewage into the waterways recently. It resulted in a river full of shit, over 1000 dead fish, and the death of numerous other creatures who rely on clean waterways for their home.

I’m appalled. It happened because rainfall after a drought caused flooding, which overwhelmed the pipe network and when that happens, the surplus sewage floods into the rivers.

The result is an environmental disaster. But what a horrible way for the fish to die! To suffocate in shit.

My husband says most of the overflow is rainwater and to separate the sewerage from the rainwater would cost a fortune. But I feel they need to invest in a solution to stop this happening, and if we all have to pay more for our water, so be it.

Thames Water is taking steps to invest in new infrastructure to resolve this, but it’s a long-term plan that will take many years to implement. I want to see action now.

Anyway, I digress. This post is supposed to be about me and my relationship with nature, in response to a call from the editor for ‘About Me’ stories. But it stresses a point —…

--

--

Susie Kearley MBA 🐹 Guinea pig slave
Tea with Mother Nature

Freelance journalist UK. Published in BBC Countryfile, The Mirror, Britain mag etc. Covers writing, health, psychology, memoir, current affairs, & environment.