When my Daughter met Emilia

The first but not the last time my daughter challenged my choices in the garden.

--

Emilia. Photo by Author

I relish insights from my children in all aspects of life. They have wonderful views and expose ideas that I had never considered before. I love the way they challenge me.

This challenge came out of the blue… I was putting washing on the clothesline. It was a hot day, a busy day and I had lots to do. My daughter was a toddler then, but a very articulate toddler. She may have got her verbosity from me, but that’s another story.

“Mum, what’s this flower called?” my daughter asked, her voice full of her delight at her discovery.

I turned to look, peg in hand. It was a weed. Thinking about my day and duties and the washing I answered quickly without much thought.

“I don’t know sweetie. It’s just a weed.”

“What does weed mean?” Her little brow furrowed as she considered this new concept and its connotations.

“Ummm, I guess it’s a plant that is in a spot where you don’t want that plant.”

Brow still furrowed she was examining the flower as I turned back to the washing.

“But why wouldn’t anyone want a flower as pretty as you?” whispered my daughter behind me.

--

--

Jane Frost (Jane Grows Garden Rooms)
Tea with Mother Nature

Jane is passionate about Australian native plants, gardening, biodiversity, food forests , nature and the Arts. Also - owner/editor of Tea with Mother Nature