Reflections: Teachable’s Marketing Team Onsite

Haleigh Fullilove
Teachable
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2022

At the end of October, Teachable’s marketing team came together in NYC for their yearly onsite at the Teachable office. In addition to our local New Yorkers, team members flew in from all over the country — arriving from Austin, Texas, St. Petersburg, FL, Detroit, MI, Los Angeles, CA, and more.

We caught up with Content Strategist and Producer Jonah Cohen for the recap of the event.

What were some of the big wins from the onsite?

For me, the biggest win was getting the chance to meet and work with coworkers in person!

This was my first time actually meeting anyone from Teachable in person, so that was especially gratifying. Being able to actually have discussions around a table led to so many more spontaneous ideas that will likely end up on our roster for next year. Although I love working remotely and the freedom it gives me, those kinds of moments are really special and help foster a deep appreciation for the team as a whole — not just individuals pitching in their respective work.

Having those kinds of interactions and being able to ask questions in the moment left me with a much stronger personal desire to relate to my fellow employees, even in a remote environment. I feel much more empowered to reach out to those I met face to face even with small questions that I previously may have felt were trivial or a bother.

It was especially delightful to get some time out of the office with everyone, painting ridiculous paintings and drinking together. It felt very merry and welcoming in a way you just can’t replicate over Zoom.

How did you feel walking away from this onsite?

I felt very inspired! It was also so much easier to kick off relationships with team members that I may not have scheduled meetings with and learn what they’re working on, as well as how we can collaborate in the future.

Ultimately, I felt equal parts exhausted and energized. We fit a lot into two days and I’m very proud to be part of a team that can have a great time while also applying themselves to their work fully. I feel much more motivated to be myself in my work and contribute my skills to further raise the team to new heights.

My biggest hope walking away from the onsite was that we get the opportunity to continue doing this across teams and with upper management. Seeing people in person adds such a human element to a work environment that otherwise can feel a bit distant. Even if it’s just once in a while, these kinds of events have a lasting impact that I still feel in every meeting and work-related event since.

--

--

Haleigh Fullilove
Teachable

writing about marketing, wellness, and life. senior social media strategist + podcast host @ teachable.