For Linda Zakas, former GATE (Gifted and Talented Education) teacher at Higgins Middle School in Peabody, MA.

Sonia W.
Teacher Appreciation Mailbox
2 min readMar 23, 2017

By Rina Farber-Mazor

Hello!

I was just having lunch with my mother today and discussing schools (my husband and I are looking for a house and even though we don’t have kids yet, schools are still a big issue!), and she asked if I was happy with my schooling. During the conversation, I told her that GATE was probably the most important part of my early experiences, and still has a huge impact on my life today. I am now a teacher at Lexington High, and always encourage my students to express their appreciation when they tell me of a teacher who has made a difference for them, and I decided I should practice what I preach.

I don’t know if you recognized my last name as the combination of the names of two former students, but Rina Mazor and Greg Farber became the Farber-Mazors 4 years ago. Although my first crush on Greg was during our eighth grade trip to the Berkshires, we didn’t get together until high school. Almost all my oldest and best friends were from GATE — Dave R***, Hal F***, Dave C***… You helped us be the intellectually curious nerds that we were and still remain. Greg and I have a huge collection of games and mind benders; we love to with play words and numbers and manipulate conceptual ideas. We are still curious and still love to learn, and I know we’d be different people if you hadn’t nurtured that in us.

What I told my mom (after two years teaching at an amazing school where students’ desire to succeed academically often sadly stifles their love and joy of learning) that I want our future kids to be intellectually curious. I hope that they have a Mrs. Zakas to help them on that journey!

With much love and gratitude,

Rina

--

--