To My Art Teachers at Weymouth High School

Sonia W.
Teacher Appreciation Mailbox
2 min readApr 2, 2017

By Cara Bean

Dear Mr. Larkin,

You were an older teacher about to retire when I was one of your students. You must have been fatigued with teaching at that time, but I appreciate that you were kind enough to let students do whatever we wanted with with art supplies. The freedom you offered us was wonderful compared to the harsh structure of my other classes. I enjoyed flirting with Zach J. and trying to make Anne H. laugh all while make some of my weirdest self-portraits. Thank you for nominated me for Art All-State, it was wonderful for my self-esteem. I would also like to apologize for borrowing one of your anatomy books and never returning it. I share with my own students now.

Dear Mr. Cuoco,

You were the replacement for Mr. Larkin when he retired and I punished you with attitude for creating structured lessons that would prepare me for the real world. My mom likes to tell the story of how I asked her to avoid meeting you on Parents Night. I felt ashamed for being disrespectful in class and I didn’t want her to know. Of course you were the first person she wanted meet! That night you were happy to tell her that I was one of the most gifted students you had ever worked with and that I refused do anything you asked. So, thank you for tolerating me with good humor and encouraging me despite my brattiness. It is a small detail, but I also remember noticing how much you loved your wife by displaying pictures of her on your desk and I liked that about you.

Dear Mr. Chop,

I remember that you wrote my recommendation letter for college by hand with ink in all capital letters. That was so cool! It was also extremely generous of your to help me take my photographs for my college portfolios. It required special lighting and slide film and I never could have managed it on my own. Thank you for writing me passes to come to the art room instead of study, that meant so much to me.

-Cara Bean

--

--