Assessment Should Be a Conversation

Tim Cavey
Teachers on Fire Magazine
8 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

If we think of assessment in these terms, what are the implications for our practice?

I remember taking an undergraduate course on the works of Shakespeare in my first or second year of university. I was ill-prepared for the course, the readings, and the required critiques.

As I recall things, my first submitted paper received a devastating D — I’m sure my worst grade in all my years of undergrad work.

It was a humiliating result, and it was a bitter pill to swallow on my first submitted assignment for the course. But the worst part? There was basically no explanation attached.

I had a choice, of course. I could have booked an appointment with the professor to sit down and discuss how I could have done things better. But with my confidence shaken and feeling out of my depth, I decided to just move on.

All I could do was try harder next time.

What a missed opportunity for learning.

Stop Slamming the Door

I remember this one scene from an early season of The Office where Angela speaks with anticipation about a coming performance review.

Of course, when it actually came time for her review later in the episode, her incompetent manager calls out “Angela, your performance was … totally satisfactory!” before slamming his office door in her face.

--

--

Tim Cavey
Teachers on Fire Magazine

Elementary Vice Principal and Teacher. Education YouTuber at Teachers on Fire. Big believer in Growth Mindset. EdTech should promote the 5 Cs. MEdL.