Augmented Reality: Bringing Back Memories

Alfonso Mendoza Jr.
Teachers on Fire Magazine
2 min readJun 22, 2021

I recently stumbled upon John Deere’s AR campaign.

I am a big fan of augmented reality and the possibilities that it offers educators in the learning process.

But AR is also being used as a great marketing tool. Many of the marketing principles I learned during college, such as reaching an audience at an emotional level, are now heightened by augmented reality.

https://farming-simulator.com/jd6m-ar.php

I recently stumbled upon John Deere’s AR campaign. As someone who is always looking for new and interesting ways to engage teachers and students with AR, I decided to check it out and was instantly transported back in time!

When I was a small boy, my father would take me to the citrus farm in Edinburg, Texas. The tractors rolled through every day at 5 p.m. when it was time for work to be done and we’d watch him drive by our house on his way home from another long shift behind the wheel of that big green beast!

My dad taught me how to drive a tractor before I could even drive a car. I remember my dad taking me out in the afternoons for a ride on the John Deere and riding around the citrus farm and surrounded by the sweet smell of orange blossoms. He would pull over and park the tractor and let me sit on the driver’s seat. My short 7-year-old legs barely had enough strength to push the clutch down, but I managed thanks to a little help from my dad. Finally managing to get the tractor in gear I was driving the Big Green Beast.

Photo by Patrick Schneider on Unsplash

For marketers, it’s important to be able to make an emotional connection with their potential customers. Augmented Reality is one way they can do this more successfully than ever before!

Hey friends, don’t forget to visit our podcast page and check out all our episodes www.myedtech.life

--

--

Alfonso Mendoza Jr.
Teachers on Fire Magazine

I am an EdTech & Education enthusiast that is always striving to better myself continually.