Dreamcatchers, Be REAL

Debbie Tannenbaum
Teachers on Fire Magazine
6 min readDec 27, 2019

Two books that clarified my mission and refreshed my vision for 2020.

A few weeks ago, Traci Browder, (@TraciBrowder) shared during a #PD4uandme Saturday morning chat how she had just read 5 Things Successful People Do Before 8 A.M., and it changed her perspective on her mornings and made them more productive. When she shared a book sold on a Christian site, I have to admit that I was skeptical. Being Jewish, I was leery of reading this book. But Tracy assured me that there were universal messages in this book, regardless of your faith.

So when I saw it was on Kindle Unlimited, I figured I had nothing to lose and began my break by reading the book. In it, Ms. Foy discusses 5 habits that successful people do before 8 AM. Some of them I already do with some degree of regularity, such as #3 - Listen to audio teaching (I am an avid podcast listener!) and #5 - Exercise (I try to get up and moving every morning - even if it is just walking the dog.) But #2 (Read a lot!) and #4 (Write and review their dreams and goals regularly) were things I had previously done at night. By then, I was tired from a long day and they were easily skipped and didn’t happen.

Revelations from Be REAL

Luckily for me, Dave Burgess Publishing had an awesome December sale and I had won another book from the #CF12days contest by @RACzyz. This left me with a plethora of books to choose from. But one book stood out — it was a book I have been wanting to read for quite a while. So I began my Winter Break by reading Be Real by Tara Martin, @TaraMartinEDU.

In her book, Tara discusses her framework of being real and how it has impacted her work in education - from classroom teaching, to coaching, to administration. As I read each section, I loved learning from Tara’s experiences and stories and then making my own connections to them. Sometimes, things seem to happen for a reason, and as I read during the first few days of my break, I found some amazing takeaways to add to not only my practice but my goals as I revisited them and got ready to add journaling to my morning practice.

I loved how Tara explained the importance of being relatable over just relationships. Being relatable is attainable, she writes. I was especially drawn as a tech coach as she described how to use our words to multiply the REAL power within those we serve. The idea of being a multiplier versus a diminisher was fascinating to me. So fascinating that I ran to my computer and ordered this book using one of my student gift cards. Both my husband and I are recently in new leadership goals and adding this book to our reading lists made perfect sense.

I also loved the idea of adding the REAL framework to the Innovators’ Compass. What a great way for me to get to know the staff and students I serve. But more than that, this could be a great way for me to focus my work.

As I continued reading the next section, I immediately was taken back to #4 (Write down your goals and review them). I had made goals at the beginning of the school year. But had they changed? Were they still my goals, my dreams? Was I truly exposing my vulnerability in them? Were these dreams and goals part of my bucket list or in my dreamcatcher? Could I use both my blog and my journal to document and review my journey towards them?

What were my original goals and how have they changed?

1. Getting Google Trainer Certification is still a long term goal but is not one of the priorities I have identified at my school currently. This makes it difficult to get in the prerequisite ten trainings for the application. Being new to a school, I finally feel comfortable and at home. This might need to wait for the 2020–2021 school year.

2. Apply for the Google Innovator Cohort in NYC. This might have been a reach goal considering I started at a new school and so much was new during the application process. But as soon as the 2020 cohort dates are announced, I do plan to apply for real this time.

3. Present at my local state technology conference — VSTE. Like #1, this was a struggle due to starting a new school. However, I definitely plan to apply to present at the 2020 VSTE conference.

4. Blog for an entire year on my website. Almost there — 2 more months to go.

5. Build relationships with my new staff & 6. Take more risks and be more social at school. Definitely making progress on both of these goals.

What has changed in my updated goals?

I am exposing some vulnerability here and sharing some personal and professional goals. I have been so focused over the last few years on professional growth that I have not focused on my personal wellbeing. Fifty pounds later, I need to commit myself to healthy eating and regular exercise. I also have so many books that I want to read to learn and now plan to journal to reflect on not only my strengths, but the dips in the road and how I move forward afterwards.

In the next section, there were so many lessons especially as I get ready to go back to school soon. One of my favorites was when others intimidate you, be REAL and don’t run away from conflict. That is a risk that many of us do not take, but as a tech coach, building relationships with my colleagues and students is vital. How can I be the REAL me as I navigate these challenges? How can I face my fears and be an encourager even when I feel beat?

That is also why I loved the idea of the drive-bys. I have been doing informal and unscheduled drive-bys with my colleagues, especially in the morning before school. But how could scheduled drive-bys impact my approachability?

In the next section, there were so many lessons especially as I get ready to go back to school soon. One of my favorites was when others intimidate you, be REAL and don’t run away from conflict. That is a risk that many of us do not take, but as a tech coach, building relationships with my colleagues and students is vital. How can I be the REAL me as I navigate these challenges? How can I face my fears and be an encourager even when I feel beat?

That is also why I loved the idea of the drive-bys. I have been doing informal and unscheduled drive-bys with my colleagues, especially in the morning before school. But how could scheduled drive-bys impact my approachability?

So as 2020 begins, I do so with Dreamcatchers, full of REAL goals and more. Thank you, Tara, for sharing this wonderful book, your journey and your REAL self with the world. I hope to take so many of the lessons you modeled forward as I reflect on my REAL self in 2020.

--

--

Debbie Tannenbaum
Teachers on Fire Magazine

An elementary school edtech coach in Northern VA, mom of 4, dog mom, wife, blogger and writer. http://www.tannenbaumtech.com