Hey XR, don’t forget about education!

Andrew Julian
Teachers on Fire Magazine
6 min readApr 15, 2019

--

The more years that I teach, I continue to see that learning is a deeply personal endeavor. Whether it is through my own pursuits of learning or student’s acquisition of new skills and content in my classroom, it is clear that rarely do two people find success in exactly the same way.

To address this there has been a myriad of pedagogical approaches aimed at trying to address the individual student. Whether it is personalized, individualized, or differentiated learning; the goal is to provide students a learning experience that deeply resonates with them as a person and empowers them to always put forth their best.

This year I was so lucky to be able to take 16 of my students to the SXSW Festival in order to explore how XR (AR/VR/MR) can be utilized in overcoming current and future challenges. While each of the sessions provided a valuable perspective on different applications, one quotation stuck with me and became more and more relevant with each additional session.

“We consume the majority of our information through rectangles. Not just TVs and smartphones, but also books and paper.”

Never before had I really lumped all types of media consumption types into one very accurate grouping. When I continued to examine this seeming unconnected group, one unifying element connected them… 2 dimensions.

The Potential for BETTER Learning with XR

--

--