How I Cultivate Creative and Critical Thinking in Higher Education

Helping students think outside the box

Lina Khalid
Teachers on Fire Magazine
2 min readOct 23, 2023

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

As an academic professor, I believe my role is to encourage my students to think creatively and develop a broad understanding of the world around them, not just study their topics. Our society often forces certain standards on us, and it’s important to teach our students to question everything before accepting it.

During my 20 years as a computer science professor, I have tried to make my classes more engaging by taking my students to the library every week to read and discuss topics related to software engineering courses (the courses that I taught through those years). I encourage my students to think outside the box and ask “WHY” questions, rather than simply memorizing information. I aim to help them see the relation of the subject to their surroundings.

I understand that not everyone agrees with my methods, but I firmly believe that it’s important to allow students to express their ideas and thoughts in their own words, without external influences. While it’s important to provide them with a solid foundation of knowledge in their chosen field of study, they must also have the freedom to explore and gain their own experiences, which will help shape them into well-rounded individuals who can positively contribute to society.

Photo by William Felipe Seccon on Unsplash

I believe that critical thinking is a crucial skill that all students should learn, as it helps them become independent thinkers who can evaluate information objectively. As a professor, I view my students as family, and I am committed to helping them develop the skills they need to understand the world and succeed in their life.

In my next blog, I will talk about the importance of critical thinking skills in the educational system.

Please, your feedback and suggestions are extremely valuable to me. It helps me improve my writing.

--

--

Lina Khalid
Teachers on Fire Magazine

I am a researcher and author of the “Software Architecture for Business” book. Love Zumba, walking in nature, and swimming.