“I Never Thought Of That Before.”

Sarah Parker
Teachers on Fire Magazine
2 min readFeb 26, 2022
A reflection sentence from a Grade 8 student.

“I never thought of that before.”

It is a simple sentence, but one I seek to hear and experience in each lesson. I search for those thin moments in learning, where the distance between the learner and something greater is very narrow. In this sacred learning, you can find moments of healing and awakening. But, how do I intentionally create these transformative moments in the classroom?

How do we create relevant, active, and meaningful learning experiences where students can live and learn into their values?

Learning is a human process. The more we design teaching and learning to reflect this natural, organic, and authentic experience, the better we serve our students.

Once I aligned my teaching with my true intention, everything changed. Instead of just constructing and creating learning and thinking lessons, I began to focus on a student’s ability to unlearn and rethink.

But, how?

I begin with my Deep Hope for the students. My Deep Hope is always worded in student-centred language. Whatever follows “I am or I can” is the energy you are inviting into your classroom.

Creating provocative Essential Questions which are explored throughout the learning process, fosters inquiry into the Big Ideas of the student’s understanding.

A classroom culture must be created with the students that allow them to be raw, vulnerable, and process their changed experiences out loud. Psychological safety is essential.

Sometimes it is so quiet you have to hold your breath just to hear the “aha” moment, but when you do it is the most delicious experience.

I will never teach or show my students anything perfectly, but I will allow them to truly see me, and I will always hold the gift of seeing them. Honestly, authentically, seeing them.

I will release my tight grip and hope to hear, “I never thought of that before.”

Thank you to Grant Wiggins and Jay McTighe. I continue to stand on the shoulders of the Understanding By Design giants.

--

--