Merge Cube Mania

Samantha Fecich
Teachers on Fire Magazine
3 min readSep 4, 2019

I first heard about Merge Cubes in the spring of 2018. At first, I had no idea what they were or how to use them in my class. I was bebopping on Instagram and saw that someone had posted that Merge Cubes were only $1 at Walmart.

That sparked my interest, so I searched for Merge Cubes and found that they are basically a foam block that uses image-based augmented reality to interact with the free apps on android through the Google Play store and iOS through the app store. I traveled to my local Walmart and bought 25 Merge Cubes.

While I was there a lady looks at me quizzically and asked what I was buying and what it did. I explained to her what it was and said, “You can’t go wrong — it’s only a dollar.”

When I got home I quickly downloaded several apps that went with the Merge Cube. Merge Cube can bring the connected world and the real world together for an amazing augmented reality experience.

The first step in using your Merge Cube is to register and create an account online using the code provided in the packaging. Remember to keep the box because the company specifically designed it to be used a stand for your phone while you experience the augmented reality cube.

Next, download the apps and have some fun! One of my favorite apps is, Galactic Explorer, where you get to dive into the solar system. During this app experience, your cube turns into the solar system and you can learn about planets. Another app designed to work with Merge Cube is Mr. Body, and this is an interactive app for young learners to learn about body parts.

One other app for the Merge Cube that is neat is an app called “Th!ngs” (yes, it is spelled correctly). You can do many things with this app, but my favorite is the campfire. Set up a campfire using the merge cube in your classroom reading nook, lay blankets on the floor, play some fire crackling and crickets chirping in the background music, and have your students read around the campfire. Now you’ve created a small reading experience for your students — tie it into a book you are reading.

Dig is another free app that you can use with your Merge Cube. It has a Minecraft feel to it and student use it to design and build worlds.

One of my preservice teachers enjoyed learning about this tool so much when they worked with it in class that she did an activity during STEM Day for elementary students using the Merge Cube. During her activity, students were able to hold the universe and a beating heart in their hands. Students learned about planets and parts of the body during her lesson, but I am sure it was a learning experience they will not soon forget.

I encourage you to go out and get a Merge Cube (if there are any left) and try it with your students today! It is a great way for students to interact with technology and reach students where they are at. If you can’t find any more Merge cubes you can print out and use a paper merge cube here. One of my colleagues challenged her students to create their own merge cubes using this paper template.

Enjoy, and please connect with me and let me know how you used Merge cubes in your class.

https://mergevr.com/about

--

--

Samantha Fecich
Teachers on Fire Magazine

Professor of education, Author of EduMagic: A guide for preservice teachers, speaker, and host of the EduMagic podcast. #edumagic #futureteacher