New Google Meet Features: Improve Your Online Classes

Andrew Julian
Teachers on Fire Magazine
4 min readOct 27, 2020

--

I’ll show you how to use breakout rooms, polling, and Q&A.

In my recent article, “How I am Going to Handle Two Weeks of Remote Learning,” I made three suggestions for teachers to consider in remote learning settings. Google Meets recently added new features that can help teachers successfully implement solutions to those ideas.

In the following sections, I will identify the new tool, what challenges it can address, and how I will implement it into my remote learning classroom.

Photo by Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

Tool #1: Question and Answer (Q&A)

The Q&A tool is a features similar to the chat, but allows students to post questions and other students to “up vote” as a means of indicating they also have that same question without reposting the question.

This tool can be used for the collection of data associated with what topics students are struggling with or need clarification on while someone is presenting new information.

Recently being in a Google Meet where quite a few people had the same question, I found myself dreaming of a “like” or “up vote” button. While I don’t often present information in a direct instruction style, this could also be helpful when providing a set of verbal instructions. This is LIVE feedback for the presenter…

--

--