Passion Projects Remind Us What School Can Look Like

Tim Cavey
Teachers on Fire Magazine
4 min readMay 10, 2021

--

Empowered learners are motivated learners.

I really enjoy creating content. I like writing, graphic design, podcasting, and video production.

I don’t consider myself an expert in any of these spaces — at least not yet. But it’s always a thrill to practice, learn more, and improve. It’s the sort of learning that feels like fun.

I do not enjoy learning how to assemble IKEA furniture. Or fix cars. Or cook. Or complete home renovations. These are tasks that I will do to the extent that I have to, but they don’t interest or inspire me. And although I want to remain curious about all of the world around me … perhaps they never will.

What I’ve just described resembles the experience of school for many students. Some areas of learning motivate and inspire. Other kinds of learning feel like obligations at best, drudgery at their worst. Something to survive.

Photo by Jeswin Thomas on Unsplash

Are we preparing students to be cooks or chefs?

Much has been written in the last few years about the power of student agency. Influential works like Leaders of Their Own Learning by Ron Berger and Dive Into Inquiry by Trevor MacKenzie have repeated the point that learning resonates more deeply when students are given choice and voice. When they are…

--

--

Tim Cavey
Teachers on Fire Magazine

Elementary Vice Principal and Teacher. Education YouTuber at Teachers on Fire. Big believer in Growth Mindset. EdTech should promote the 5 Cs. MEdL.