5 Keys to Success for New School Principals

Nicholas Edwards
Teachers on Fire Magazine
3 min readMar 25, 2022

There are opportunities that arise in our lives. What we do with those opportunities is what defines us.

Photo by Andrew Charney on Unsplash

We ask ourselves one question: are we ready?

This happened to me in 2018. I was a fourth grade teacher and I was hired as an assistant principal in a new district. Finally, I had become an assistant principal and was excited to learn the ins and outs of the principal!

Little did I know that in three weeks as an AP, things would change. The principal took another job, and I had no idea what was going to happen next. I was asking myself the same questions above, and many more as I waited to find out if I was going to be chosen as the next leader of Smalley School.

  • “Will the Superintendent appoint me?”
  • “Will they choose someone else who knows the district better?”
  • “What is going to happen???”

The day came, and the decision was made that I was being promoted to building principal!

Excited, nervous, anxious, and proud were some of the feelings that came to mind. I accepted the new role and got to work. Below are five tips on what I feel are a must do to be successful in your first year as a principal, from the perspective of a classroom teacher.

Five keys to success for new school principals

1. Be Visible

You are new to the community, staff, and the students. You need to show that you are the right person and you are ready for the job. Make sure you are welcoming the students before and after school, saying hello to the parents, and introducing yourself. Walk the hallways throughout the day, pop in classrooms, check the bathrooms so they are clean, give praise, and see what your staff needs daily.

2. Build Relationships

Your staff sees you as the new principal. They are asking each other, “I wonder how he/she is going to be? They were a classroom teacher last year. How do they know what to do? Will they be good for the school?” Make time in your daily schedule to meet one on one with staff, get to know your staff, build that connection and build trust. In no time, they will be asking if they can leave five minutes early to pick up their son or daughter because they know they can trust you LOL.

3. Communication

Each year I try to get better and find ways to get information out to the families. I now send weekly videos to parents and the community on any information that is happening in the building.

I send a parent blast, post on Twitter and get it out on social media as much as I can so that parents are informed.

When in doubt, more news is better than no news.

4. Take Ownership

You are going to fail, make wrong decisions or not know the answer to a question from a staff member. It’s ok! I thought I had to know the answer right away and try to come up with one. This is foolish.

Respond with “Can I get back to you about that? Let me look into this and I’ll get back to you.”

Apologize. Say, “That’s on me.” I’ll make adjustments. I take responsibility for that.” If you show your staff that you show responsibility and ownership, they will respect you more.

5. Learn and Take Notes

Ask your colleagues for suggestions and recommendations. Don’t be afraid to ask questions, read articles, watch videos, learn, and get better!

I was very fortunate to have great colleagues and mentors that helped me my first year (they still do). I kept a notebook with notes of things I needed to improve on and things I knew were working.

I still do this! At the end of the year self-reflect and compete against yourself! I love learning from so many great educators out there!

I could have listed 20 topics, but I wanted to keep it simple. Don’t go in and try to change a bunch of things. Listen to your staff, take notes, add your vision, and showcase your students.

No matter what, Be You! To all the teachers out there looking to pursue administration, you never know what can happen. If an opportunity arises, take it!

--

--

Nicholas Edwards
Teachers on Fire Magazine

I am an Elementary Principal at Academy Street School in Dover, NJ