Tackling Four Preps with One Prep Period (Part I)

Heather MacCorkle
Teachers on Fire Magazine
3 min readAug 9, 2021

--

Yesterday, I indulged my less-confident side, and wondered what I would do if I left K-12 education. Today, it’s time to bounce back.

(Day 9 of the 30-Day Writing Challenge)

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Each course is a “prep.” Each has its requirements, curriculum, units, standards, and lessons. To teach the course effectively, teachers use strategies proven successful for that content and those skills. When we have four (or some of my friends have more) preps and one prep period, we need to find a way to manage the tasks associated with them more effectively.

Find Commonalities

This semester, I teach AP Literature and Composition, English 11, Creative Writing I, and Journalism. What are the commonalities among those courses?

Theme and Main Idea

Theme and Main Idea are important to each of these courses. Although each student group will need scaffolding and differentiated instruction, the foundation can be the same. I may even find that all students need the same level of scaffolding and differentiated instruction. Once I meet my students, I will know.

Character Analysis and Development

--

--

Heather MacCorkle
Teachers on Fire Magazine

Mother and daughter always. Friend, too. English teacher most days.