Wakelet: Bringing Our School Community Together

Alfonso Mendoza Jr.
Teachers on Fire Magazine
2 min readJun 16, 2021

Wakelet has been my tool of choice to help me easily share information with my parents in both English and Spanish.

https://twitter.com/wakelet/photo

Many schools are trying to combat the growing problem of cyberbullying by teaching kids about digital citizenship. But there is a different audience that needs to be engaged with this issue: parents! This blog post will explore how you can use Wakelet to share Digital Citizenship resources for parents and help them make sure that they know what their children are doing online.

Digital citizenship can be defined as the way that people act and behave in their digital lives. It includes how they make informed decisions about what to post, share or do online based on knowledge of social norms, laws, or best practices. We also want parents to understand things like cyberbullying so that when something is happening at school (or even happens outside of school) they know how to respond with empathy rather than anger.

As the district Instructional Technologist, I get the opportunity to work with many of our parents during the school year when we meet for our Technology Tuesday meetings or when I get invited to campuses to speak to parents and students about this topic. It does not surprise me when I see the look of parent and student faces as I share information on topics such as sharenting, digital footprint, sexting, and more. These presentations allow for us to dialogue in a safe space where we can help our community.

Wakelet has been my tool of choice to help me easily share information with my parents in both English and Spanish. It allows me to easily share my collections with parents and to continually update them with the most up to date news so that our parents always have fresh resources like videos that they watch on their own or as a family and articles that they can read that can help them have those important conversations with their children.

Wakelet is an easy way to share information with parents in both English and Spanish. It allows you to effortlessly create collections of articles, videos, or any other type of content that can be used for learning purposes as well as a platform where your family can come together and learn from each other. If this sounds like something that would benefit your district too then please visit their website www.wakelet.com today!

Here are my collections

English and Spanish

--

--

Alfonso Mendoza Jr.
Teachers on Fire Magazine

I am an EdTech & Education enthusiast that is always striving to better myself continually.