I’d Rather Be

Mark Joseph
Teacher Talk
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2018
(Selfies through the 6.)

Someone I don’t know that well: “So what do you do?”

Me: “I’m a teacher. It’s really awesome. It keeps me young, you know?”

Same someone: “Oh, that’s cool. You get your summers off and a lot of breaks in-between too.”

Me: “Yeah, that’s true. But, to be honest, I’d rather be [blank].”

I mean, yes, I like eating cold chicken at noon but I’d rather be at Popeyes on a Friday evening with kids.

And, yes, I like going for runs but I’d rather be running mile repeats with the Spring Running Club at West Side Park.

And, yes, I like reading Jesmyn Ward novels but I’d rather be reading Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince with kids.

And, yes, I like discussing philosophy and politics but I’d rather be discussing different ways to solve a complex math question with kids.

And, yes, I like sleeping-in but I’d rather be staying up late at a Lock-In or a dance.

And, yes, I like cooking dinner but I’d rather be eating pasta and cookies with our Running Warriors crew before a 10k race the next day.

And, yes, I like watching movies but I’d rather be watching Blank Panther or Wonder with kids at CityPlex 12.

And, yes, I like (love, actually) seeing my family but Rhode Island isn’t home anymore.

(New Jersey is.)

And I never would have predicted it when I was younger but there’s something about seeing 108 smiling, excited, badass kids at 7:45 a.m. tomorrow morning that feels right.

And I’m not saying that everyone feels this way. Or has to feel this way. Or wants to feel this way.

Or that I don’t appreciate breaks (because I do).

But if you know what I mean about the joy of teaching — enjoy your day back.

There are a limited number of beautiful tomorrows.

--

--

Mark Joseph
Teacher Talk

6th grade math teacher at Rise Academy in Newark, New Jersey. Once and future farmer. (Instagram: also @realmarkjoseph)