First-Generation College Student Experiences: My Perspective.

Jordan Laney
Teaching: A Practice
5 min readMar 15, 2020

It was an honor to be the First-Gen Faculty/Staff Feature for the Hokie Mentorship Connect Program. My answers (below) to questions about first-gen experiences were posted on the Empowering First-Gen Discussion Board Group.

PhDone! December 2018.

Current Title & Employer/Department:
Presidential Pathways Postdoctoral Fellow,
Department of Religion and Culture, Virginia Tech

Favorite Quote:
Do all the good you can, by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, to all the people you can, as long as ever you can. –John Wesley

What does the term First-Gen mean to you?
To me, first-gen simply means that you are the first in your family to attend college (a 4-year university). I try not to generalize what it means beyond that but recognize that students who do not have family members with this experience may have different challenges than students who have family members with college degrees.

What was your experience as First-Gen undergraduate student?
I did not know what “first-gen” was until applying for my PhD! I had never heard the term or profited from first gen programs in my undergraduate or masters programs. While applying to PhD programs my mentor asked if my parents had gone to college. When I replied “no” she encouraged me to check the “first-gen” box. When I started teaching at VT the challenges became much more apparent to me and I began to work to empower first-gen undergrad and graduate students.
I loved college once I found a place that challenged me and embraced my nontraditional and interdisciplinary work. My parents have been and are an amazing support system. Having people who believe in you means everything.

What did you wish you had known as a First-Gen undergraduate student?
I wish I had known that my experience was not the “norm” while attending college. I didn’t realize there were differences in social and cultural capital at play. Often, situations left me asking: “why does everyone else know what this is? I must not belong here or be as smart as others” when in fact, it WAS harder for me. There are resources, relationships, and terminology only available to those who are familiar with the college process. So much made sense after I learned what it means to be “first-gen” and I became even prouder of my accomplishments.

Tell us how process did you go through to figure out that your major and did you find it to be a perfect fit for you upon reflection?
Looking back, my undergraduate major was a process of finding a field where I felt both confident and challenged. I loved so many different classes but found myself increasingly frustrated that my classes didn’t “communicate” with one another or overlap. In short, I was looking for an interdisciplinary program. I completed my BFA in Creative Writing focusing on creative non-fiction and documentary arts. The various topics I had been interested in before (music, history, folklore, land, storytelling) all came together through creative writing.

What attracted you to your current employer?
After completing my PhD (here, at VT) I applied to for a postdoctoral fellowship and received it. Receiving a fellowship from your home institution is fairly uncommon and I am grateful for the opportunity to spend more time teaching and learning here. I love walking to work every morning, the steady rhythm of the town and the energy of the students.

How does your current position allow for you to interact or assist First-Gen students?
I get to interact with First-gen students all the time. I provide information to students on a continual basis and I find First-gens are looking for someone who will be compassionate with them and guide them through this complex University. I want First-gens to know who is here to help them, how to plan for their academic pathway and their future beyond Virginia Tech. I don’t want them years later thinking I really had no one at VT who was able to guide me and help me plan my future. Whenever I meet with a First-Gen student or guess that a student who is sitting in front of me is a First-Gen I tell my story. It helps students to open up to me and ask for help. For First-Gens, the hardest step is asking for help because it is admitting you do not know what you are doing. My story I hope opens the door for them to step inside and start asking questions.

College students especially first-gen students often struggle between deciding if they should choose their major based on the money they’ll make after graduation or based on how passionately they feel about it. Which side of the debate do you agree with the most? Why?
It is important for all students to know the realities of their passions and the realities of different professions after graduating. One of those realities is that jobs and majors are not always a direct line from one to the other. For socio-economically disadvantaged students we need more transparency about career opportunities and salaries. Further, we don’t often talk about the multiple paths to most careers or that passions change and evolve. It is frustrating that so much pressure is placed on students to know what they want to study before they have time to fully explore majors, job experiences, and develop a critical thinking practice. I want everyone (university students and beyond) to have a stable income, but I do not want passions, curiosities, or education choices made out of fear. My advice would be to find those spaces where you are both confident and challenged and see where they lead.

What career related advice would you share with other first-gen Hokies?
The career related advice I would share with other first-gen Hokies is advice I also offer to myself: simply remember, everything is practice. There isn’t an end or a “best” or “final” level. It is all practice. Be gentle with yourself as you learn.

Any other advice or comments you’d like to share?
Celebrate wins! Celebrate support! Trust yourself — you belong and are needed where (ever) you are.

--

--