Leonard Lin Interview—Technologist

Kit
Kit Blog
Published in
4 min readFeb 24, 2016

You try introducing Leonard Lin! With his vast list of interests, projects and companies, including co-founding Upcoming, descriptions of jobs and titles won’t do this technologist justice. Let’s just say this: Leonard is currently working on building next generation photobooths at Lensley and while others talk about virtual reality he actually built his own mobile VR workstation (which he deconstructed on Kit). Learn more about this “traveling techie” and don’t forget to follow him on Kit.

So, what *is* a photobooth for the 21st century?

For us, the biggest thing is about having amazing quality images instantly shareable (via email, text, Twitter, Facebook, etc), but it’s also about building awesome custom experiences and generating things like videos, GIFs, zoetropes, and all kinds of other crazy stuff. We build our own hardware and software, so that means the sky’s the limit, and we built our gear into everything from shoe-fie (shoe selfie) stations to a 20-ton life-size Lego X-Wing in Times Square.

Lensley photobooth in the wild.

You’ve held various “hacker” jobs. Name 3 essential tools in any hacker’s kit.

For those on the move, an unlocked phone, a local data SIM, and a laptop with good battery life are probably the top three. But if you were to ask me to be a bit more prescriptive, it’d be to get your dotfiles set up, use version control religiously, and make sure you’re always keeping notes on what you’re doing.

You built your own VR system. Tell us about this! How long did it take, how did it turn out, and what’s the coolest thing it can do?

When I started doing VR development, I was hoping to use a very portable off the shelf option but sadly, it just didn’t have enough horsepower for development. The hardest thing about building a custom rig was trying to figure out putting together a powerful enough system together that would fit as a “personal item” while flying (I don’t like to check my bags). We use lots (*lots*) of Pelican cases at work, and I managed to find one that ended up being the perfect size. I did a quick sketch up and was planning to have to do a bunch more gluing/mounting, but in the end, all it took was one tiny 3D-printed part for a clip and two drill holes to mount the graphics card.

The coolest thing it can do is that I can pack an entire VR rig, including the Oculus DK2 headset and tracking camera, into the case and slide it under a domestic economy seat.

What stuff do you you carry around with you everyday?

SlimFold Soft Shell Wallet
RHA T10i — current IEMs
Fujifilm X100T — it wouldn’t be a carry everywhere camera if you didn’t bring it with you

You like to travel. What destinations are on your list for 2016?

I filled up my passport this year, and just got an additional 48 pages tacked in, so I do feel like I have a bit of a responsibility to head to some interesting places. Next on my list are probably the Okinawan islands and Hokkaido. I meant to visit Cuba last year and didn’t get to, so that’s up there as well. Lately, I’ve been doing a lot less planning on destinations, and last year I did a fair amount of grabbing last minute tickets to places (Barcelona, Oslo, Copenhagen) to meet up with friends (no pressure, guys).

New Zealand’s Mount Cook, photographed by Leonard Lin

Seems like you also go to Taipei a bit. What item(s) do you recommend every tourist gets for his/her “I visited Taipei and all I got was this ______” kit.

IMO, the best thing about Taipei is the food. Be sure to head to any Din Tai Fung for the best soup dumplings in the world. (I feel pretty confident having done plenty of research :). Also, the Din Tai Fungs in Asia are significantly better than the U.S. locations.) Oh, the rice-wrapped Chinese sausages in the night markets are awesome.

You also like music. What’s on your Spotify / iTunes / [fill in your device/service of choice] these days?

Yeah, I’m a big music nerd and go through a ridiculous amount of new tracks, so what’s on my playlist pretty much changes daily. I’m a huge fan of what Spotify is doing with their “Discover Weekly” list. There’s always a couple killer cuts on there.

Here a few recent SoundCloud likes:

In your “Travel Essentials” kit, you talk about earplugs in light of seeing “hundreds, if not thousands of shows.” Top show of 2015? All time?

I caught Owen Pallett at Sónar this year, and he was even better than the last time I saw him (when I thought he played the best set at SXSW that year). FKA Twigs gets an honorable mention for heart-stopping bass and being absolutely mesmerizing on stage.

Top show of all time is to hard to pick. Ask me again in 50 years and we’ll see which ones I still remember. :)

Show us your most used emojis!

Psshaw, emoji. Pusheen cat 4eva.

Thanks, Leonard!

Follow him on Kit and for no-nonsense gear recs in photography, VR, travel, style and more.

--

--

Kit
Kit Blog

Your place to talk about the things worth getting. kit.co