How To: Make Money With Kit

Kit
Kit Blog
11 min readOct 20, 2015

--

This article is now outdated. Please refer to our newly launched Help Center for updated information.

We believe the work creators put into making kits should be rewarded. If someone comes to Kit and buys a product because you recommended it, you should be paid for that. Right now we allow Kit creators to keep 100% of earnings. You can do this by:

Inputting affiliate codes into your Kit profile: Anyone can put their affiliate tracking codes for programs we support into their Kit profile to immediately monetize their recommendations from those retailers. Step-by-step instructions for how to set this up can be found in the FAQs below. Here are the affiliate programs we currently support:

- Amazon’s affiliate programs in the US, UK, CA, DE, IN, FR, ES, IT, MX, JP & BR
- B&H Photo Video’s Affiliate Program
- eBay’s Partner Network (ebay.com only)
- Newegg’s affiliate program (newegg.com only)
- Flipkart’s affiliate program

Check out our FAQs below for more details. If you still have questions, or just want to mingle, drop us a line at support@kit.com.

Kit Monetization FAQs

  1. Does Kit take a cut of my affiliate revenue?
  2. How is Kit able to give creators 100% of earnings?
  3. If I’m not a member of the affiliate programs you support, how can I monetize?
  4. Do I have to paste my affiliate-wrapped link every time I add a product to Kit?
  5. Where do I input my affiliate codes to monetize?
  6. Who pays me?
  7. How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in the United States?
  8. How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in the United Kingdom?
  9. How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in Canada?
  10. How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in Germany?
  11. How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in India?
  12. How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in France?
  13. How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Italy?
  14. How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Spain?
  15. How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Mexico?
  16. How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Japan?
  17. How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Brazil?
  18. How do I find my Ebay Partner Network code?
  19. How do I find my B&H affiliate program code?
  20. How do I find my NewEgg affiliate program code?
  21. How do I find my Flipkart affiliate program code?
  22. How does the Kit buy-all button work?
  23. How do I know if the buy-all button is affiliating properly?
  24. What is Kit’s sticky affiliates feature?
  25. Could I lose revenue from someone using sticky affiliates?
  26. Do you support monetization on any eBay domains outside of ebay.com?
  27. Do you support monetization on any Newegg domains outside of newegg.com?
  28. When I hashtag one of my kits, it says purchases will help support a moderator. What is this?
  29. Does Kit automatically detect the correct Amazon country links for users?
  30. If someone suggests a product on my kit, who earns the affiliate revenue?

Does Kit take a cut of my affiliate revenue?
Nope. 100% of earnings generated go to you.

We’re focused on making the best home for the products worth getting. We’re creatives ourselves, so we fundamentally believe in creator-friendly policies — which is why we want you to keep 100% of the revenue you generate. (Yeah, it’s pretty unheard of.) In the instance where a creator does not have his or her own Amazon Affiliate ID, or does not wish to use one, Kit will use its own. So, at the end of the day, we’re all making some cash money, just like it should be. 🤑

How is Kit able to give creators 100% of earnings?
We earn a small sum of money from kits where creators do not put in their affiliate codes, and we’re lucky enough to have venture capital funding. At some point in the future, we’ll look to make some money in other ways (e.g. ads), though we’ll always be focused on providing significant value and revenue to creators.

If I’m not a member of the affiliate programs you support, how can I monetize?
If there’s an affiliate program that we don’t currently support, you can still make money from your partnership with that retailer (as a reminder, here is the list of affiliates we currently support).

Here’s the scoop: all you have to do when adding the item to your kit is to paste in your affiliate-tagged product link and you will earn your normal revenue from the program. And that’s it!

Do I have to paste my affiliate-wrapped link every time I add a product to Kit?
Nope! We’ll take care of the heavy lifting. Once you’re opted into the Kit Partner Program, or have input your affiliate codes for a program, we’ll automatically affiliate the URLs that correspond to those programs.

Where do I input my affiliate codes to monetize?
Sign into Kit, go to your profile (top right corner of the site) and hit Edit Profile. Input your affiliate codes here, under the monetize tab. You can access that here (Note: You must be signed in for this link to work).

Who pays me?
Any monetization through affiliate codes in your profile will be paid directly to you from the respective affiliate program.

If you sign up for the Kit Partner Program, we will pay you for any products links that you’re not directly monetizing within your profile. We pay Kit creators the revenue they earn from retailers at the end of every month, but it can take a couple months for the first bit of revenue to be paid out by retailers (dependent on retailer). In other words: patience, grasshopper.

How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in the United States?

  1. Log into your Amazon Associates US account
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end in a ‘-20’. See the image below for the exact location.

How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in the United Kingdom?

  1. Log into your Amazon Associates UK account
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. Your code should end in ‘-21’.

How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in Canada?

  1. Log into your Amazon Associates Canada account
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. Your code should end in ‘-20’. See the image below for the exact location.

How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in Germany?

  1. Log into your Amazon PartnerNet Germany account
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. Your code should end in ‘-21’.

How do I find my code for Amazon’s affiliate program in India?

  1. Log into your Amazon Associates India account
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end with a ‘-21’

How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in France?

  1. Log into your account for Amazon’s affiliate program in France here
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end with a ‘-21’

How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Italy?

  1. Log into your account for Amazon’s affiliate program in Italy here
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end with a ‘-21’

How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Spain?

  1. Log into your account for Amazon’s affiliate program in Spain here
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end with a ‘-21’

How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Mexico?

  1. Log into your account for Amazon’s affiliate program in Mexico here
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end with a ‘-2o’

How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Japan?

  1. Log into your account for Amazon’s affiliate program in Japan here
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end with a ‘-22’ (please note, you should remove any spaces in the code before inputting it in your profile)

How do I find my code for Amazon affiliate program in Brazil?

  1. Log into your account for Amazon’s affiliate program in Brazil here
  2. Once logged in, you can find the code in the upper right-hand corner of your account homepage. It will end with a ‘-20’

How do I find my Ebay Partner Network code?

  • Pick one of the campaign IDs present on the page to input into your Kit profile

How do I find my B&H affiliate program codes?

For B&H, you will need to input two codes in order to monetize.

KBID #:

BI #:

  • To access your BI #, log into your B&H Affiliate Program account
  • Once logged in, the easiest way to obtain your BI number is to click on the ‘Data Feed’ tab
  • Then, click “Get HTML Code or Link” on the first item in your data feed. See the image below for an example.
  • Once on you click on it, a pop up window will appear. In the last box on the window, labeled ‘Raw link’, you can find your BI # in the link. It is the 5 digits after “BI/”. See the image below for an example.

How do I find my Newegg affiliate program code?

Before inputting your code, please note the following:

  1. You will need to be an active member of Newegg’s affiliate program on cj.com for monetization to work
  2. You should update your CJ profile with a note that you will be sending some traffic from Kit.com

Finding your code:

  • Log into your CJ account
  • Click the ‘Account’ tab in upper left-hand corner, and then hit the ‘Websites’ option
  • Once you’ve done this, you’ll see codes for the active websites you have under CJ. Choose a code that corresponds to one of your active websites on CJ, and input this code into the Kit monetize tab. See the image below for an example code and the location it can be found in.

How do I find my Flipkart affiliate program code?

  1. Log into your Flipkart affiliate account
  2. Click the ‘MY ACCOUNT‘ tab on the left-hand panel
  1. You will see your tracking code below the ‘My Account’ header next to ‘Tracking ID’. See the image below for an example.

How does the Kit Buy All button work?
A Buy All button will appear on kits with at least one Amazon.com item in them, giving users the opportunity to easily purchase all the Amazon items in your Kit.

If you are monetizing with your own Amazon.com affiliate code, you will earn referral revenue from all purchases a user makes from clicking this button.

How do I know if the Buy All button is affiliating properly?

You can take the following steps to confirm that the Buy All link is affiliating with your code.

  1. Click the Buy All button
  2. Once directed to Amazon.com, select a product and add it to your cart.
  3. This will bring you to the checkout screen where you will find your affiliate code being attributed in the URL. You can find it after “AssociatesTag=”. (Note, that the dash in your code will get turned into “%252D” which is another way of writing a dash in a url.)

What is Kit’s sticky affiliates feature?

Sticky Affiliates is a feature that allows Kit Partners to receive money from each person they send to Kit. It works quite simply:

  1. Share links to your Kit profile, or one of your individual kits
  2. When someone lands on Kit via one of your links, your affiliate codes will ‘stick with them’. As a result, if that person purchases an item anywhere on Kit from a retailer you monetize with, you’ll get the credit for the purchase — even if the purchase was from someone else’s kit.

Could I lose revenue from someone using sticky affiliates?

You will not lose any revenue from people you refer to your kits.

If a Kit Partner opted into sticky affiliates refers a user to their Kit content, and then, that person visits your kit to purchases something, the Kit Partner will receive the revenue from the purchase. Based on feedback from creators, we believe rewarding creators for the traffic they send to Kit will benefit the whole community as this will lead to more users and follows across everyone’s content.

Do you support monetization on any eBay domains outside of ebay.com?

At the moment, we do not. If this is something you’d like to see, please let us know at support@kit.com

Do you support monetization on any Newegg domains outside of newegg.com?

At the moment, we do not. If this is something you’d like to see, please let us know at support@kit.com

When I hashtag one of my kits, it says I am supporting the community’s moderator. What is this?

Kudos to you for supporting online content creators.

When you choose to support a community’s moderator by using one of these hashtags on a specific kit, any affiliate codes that you have associated with your account will no longer appear on that kit. This means that when any products are sold from that kit, the affiliate revenue will automatically go to the community’s moderator.

Only the kit with the special hashtag will be affected; all other kits will remain the same, and will use your affiliate codes.

If you do not have any affiliate codes on your account, then your kits are not impacted.

If you have questions or want to send feedback, contact us at support@kit.com.

Does Kit automatically detect the correct Amazon country links for users?

We have a feature that will automatically target Amazon links to a user’s local country with a creator’s affiliate codes appended to the link. You can find more details here.

If someone suggests a product on my kit, who earns the affiliate revenue?

You will earn 100% of the affiliate revenue made from any of the products suggested on your kits, no matter who makes the suggestion.

--

--

Kit
Kit Blog

Your place to talk about the things worth getting. kit.co