Online discussion group

Langqin Zhang
Team Working
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2018

In the past few posts, I mentioned that a good teamwork should have communications and the communication is a mutual activity. Therefore, we need to be a person who is good at expressing our opinions and listening to others’ opinions. There is a method, online discussion group, to help us become that person.

Why online discussion group?

In a group project, it is common for us to create an online discussion group. An online discussion group has such advantages:

· Students could participate in the discussion at a suitable time and a comfortable place

· Those who are shy to talk with other face-to-face can also have chances to express their ideas

· Having enough time to make a feedback

· Easy to know others’ ideas at once

My Experience

In the first semester of my freshman year, I had a group presentation in a language course. We made an online discussion group talk about the topic of the presentation. We had a week to prepare that presentation, so we had enough time to search resources online and put it in the online discussion. Our team had four people and each one was responsible for a part. When someone had some ideas or resources, he would put it in the online discussion at once and made a notification so that others could immediately take a look. I think it is a good way to express ideas and listen to others’ ideas. We can have enough time to think and respond to others. In the end, we had a good score.

Reflection

In the past in China, I haven’t tried this way to discuss or communicate to others. After that experience, I think it is a good method to improve my skill of teamwork. In the past, when I faced some group projects, some people were always shy to express ideas, even me. Therefore, it is an effective way to make a group project better.

In the next time, if I face a group project, I will suggest making an online discussion group to communicate with team members.

--

--