Let Your Dreams Define Who You Are, Not Your Sex!

Swati Tyagi
Team Connect
Published in
3 min readMar 8, 2018

When a girl is born with the differences, she has no idea, what is going to happen because she is not a boy, she is not ghar ka chiraag. But she knows as a fact that there are differences, she can sense them all the time, right from her childhood. She gets to know from the very beginning that there are things only her brother can do which she cannot even dream of doing. I DID!

Whenever I couldn’t understand these differences (which was almost always), I would innocently go to my father and ask him why am I not a boy. To make me smile in return, he would dress me up like a boy, cut my hair short like my brother and say, see you look like your brother now, you are a boy now. Only my father couldn’t do any bias between his daughter and his son.

As a 5 year old, I got to know that engineers are some bigshot people who earn a lot, and since then I started dreaming of becoming one. Obviously nobody took it seriously in my family but my dad. He heard it and kept it in him. As I grew up, I even struggled to get into a school with PCM because in the schools in and around our village, only boys were allowed to take Science. But little did I know, my dream had become my dad’s too. So, he used his savings and sent me out for further studies. Everyone was against him for using his savings for my studies and not my marriage. A lot of drama happened at home and between our relatives for many days. Ladki hai jo krna hai, sasural mein kare, yeh to maika hai, yaha hai hi kya uska, my dadi kept shouting but my dad went against the odds and supported my dream instead. It was my dad who believed in me enough that I could believe in myself. I could believe in education and independence or I would have never known these terms or their meaning. And here I am! Living them today. Even though I faced a lot of problems during my B.Tech due to coming from a non-english background and afterwords. But I could always find a way out to reach to my dreams. Thank god to all the men- my dad, my teachers who never gave up on me because I was a girl, even though women of my life did, who are all now so proud of me.

Nobody should be compromising on their dreams based on the sex, they are born with. I deeply wish and request all the parents not to kill their daughter’s dream or son’s. In fact, live those dreams with your kids like my dad lived with me.

#HappyWomensDay

--

--

Swati Tyagi
Team Connect

Engineer @teamvariance1 | Soulful Traveller | Passionate Foodie | Life Philosopher