Things I Wish I Knew When I Was Younger

Shagun Sharma
Team Connect
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2018

Because it would have left more child in me.
Because it would have left more feelings in me.
Because it would have left some life in me.

  • Love. But Do Not Let Go.. Of Yourself

Back then, love seemed too important to stop.. or to even think. And then you give it too much.. too much of yourself. As good as giving might be, it should stop when you start giving yourself in it. It gets unhealthy, it becomes damaging. And no matter how hard I try today, I can never get back of me what I lost then. You make peace with it, you call it growing up. But if only it happened somewhat lesser, maybe.

  • Try Not Too Hard Living All Your Firsts Already

Too much too soon? Yes! We want everything right then. All the adventures, all the firsts. Everything! Right now! And later, we are left with memories, comparisons and emptiness.

  • Words Are Very Powerful

I still remember all the words that are deeply engraved in me, that changed me sometimes, killed me sometimes or were my only reasons to live so many times. I wish, I could take some of mine back. I wish, I could erase some from my memories. If only I could!

  • Value Yourself & Yours

I was so reluctant, so hard and absolutely indifferent, for so many times when I should not have been and only to myself and mine. The ones who have stayed despite that. I wish, I understood how precious family family is. Might not be true for everyone, but for me, it was. I wish, I knew this before.

  • Dream. Don’t Plan

I was a dreamer before I broke and went too down. I broke because I started building on to my dreams, I started planning them on. And I planned all the years, which obviously didn’t turn out how I planned. When you dream, you live them. Plans make us anxious though. I wish, I planned lesser, it would have hurt lesser. It would have damaged lesser.

  • Take Life Seriously. NOT!

It seems like this huge play we are acting in, and if there is any audience at all, it matters to me no more. I had tried too hard to please so many, and where are all these pleased people now? Thank God, I live not to satisfy anybody’s ego anymore.

To love, maybe.. to dream, maybe.. to just be, maybe!

--

--