Author’s file

Freedom from Earrings

Yeap, that makes about as much sense as any of my titles. . .😀

--

This is a response to a poetry writing prompt from my Scribophile friend and editor of “Brainscatter” on Medium, Peculiar Julia, who is spending the entire month of April writing daily prompts for NaPoWriMo. It’s a short month, only 30 days according to the knuckles on my hand.

From her post:

Write some mass/abstract nouns down on pieces of paper.

Fold the papers and put them in a dish (charades style).

Put some random objects on a tray, or some random pictures of objects on a Pinterest board.

Pick a paper from the dish.

Make a poem about your abstract noun, featuring one of the objects/the subjects of your picture.

The first thing I did was write my list on recycled paper (I believe it’s the deed for our house in Switzerland, but I can’t read German.)

mass/abstract nouns:

vehicle (because I just updated my auto insurance)

tow truck

semi

barge

Then, I thought, I wonder what “mass/abstract” nouns means. I Googled it.

--

--

Ann James
Teaser Tales

Her writing muse lurks in the volcanic hills amidst mustangs, marmots and jackalopes. While hiking with her dogs, Ann stumbles upon stories of dark humor.