A Rare Portrait of Dracula in Austria’s Vineyards

My trip to the Forchtenstein Castle

Prateek Dasgupta
Teatime History
10 min readJun 5, 2024

--

Front view of the Forchtenstein Castle with its prominent Black Tower. [All photos are taken and copyrighted by the author and are not to be used without permission].

After my Bulgaria trip in August 2017, I had a few days to spare before returning home. I planned to visit Vienna and Bratislava. However, my Austrian friend suggested I skip the crowded tourist destinations and accompany him on a getaway to his hometown in the Burgenland province, which borders Hungary.

--

--

Prateek Dasgupta
Teatime History

Top writer in History, Science, Art, Food, and Culture. Interested in lost civilizations and human evolution. Contact: prateekdasgupta@gmail.com