Bratislava’s Blue Church Consecrated to Elizabeth Of Hungary

And some other soothing sights from the Slovak capital

Yuri Minamide
Teatime History

--

The Blue Church in Bratislava, whose colours seem to reflect the sky (Photo by author)

Recently, I visited Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia. It is easily accessed from London, where I live, by a two-hour and 15-minute flight.

I’m planning to write a separate article about a major spot, but for today, shall we enjoy a lovely morning stroll? I would like to show you the beauty of Slovakia, which is different from the glamorous charm of its neighbouring Czech Republic, while they were one country until 1993.

Bratislava is a beautiful, traveller-friendly city

An avenue of Bratislava’s Old Town and a tram that runs through it (Photo by author)

This is the street on the east side of the old town, just in front of the hotel where I stayed. As you can see, there are few people on the streets. This never happens in London or Tokyo, so I realise I was in a foreign country.

Many trams and buses are running in the city. As with public transport in London and Rotterdam, you can simply tap your debit card to the reader. However, while all the buses I hopped on were fine, I saw quite a few broken readers on the trams. Therefore, it…

--

--

Yuri Minamide
Teatime History

London-based, Kimono-clad Japanese writer/translator, focused on art and culture. Speaking several languages. Having visited 50 countries. A cat person.