Meet Josh Opoku Agyemang

Seyram Avle
Tech + Africa
Published in
3 min readJan 14, 2019

Co-founder/CEO of Pesonet LLC & President of Ghana IoT Network Hub

What are you working on right now?

The Smart Home System: a system that allows households or businesses to control their lighting systems and electrical appliances from where ever they are using their phone.

They can also monitor temperature, humidity, detect smoke, intrusions, gas leakages and power consumption of every appliances in the house or offices from wherever they on their phone.

My team and I are building the future of homes, where everything from lights, windows, temperature, cameras, doors and all appliances will be fully connected and automated.

Where did you get your skills or where did you learn to do IoT?

I studied Computer Programming at the Ghana-Indian Kofi Annan Centre of Excellence in ICT (AITI-KACE) after I completed senior high school. The course helped me develop critical thinking and problem solving skills and gave me the foundations of computer programing through languages like C, Javascript, etc.

I learned other programming languages like Python, C++, NodeJS
PostgreSQL, and others on my own. I also taught myself electronics and picked up entrepreneurship along the way.

What has been the most helpful tool to you so far?

The 3D Printer has really been very helpful when it comes to packaging IoT Devices. Although it’s not of the same quality as the industrial prints, it has helped us in casing the devices without exposing the circuit boards.

What’s the biggest challenge for you as a maker-entrepreneur in Ghana?

My biggest challenge so far is access to equipment and components for quick and easy prototyping, as well as a maker space for my team to work effectively.

I will plead with anyone out there who has the heart to support this vision of mine to please reach out and together we can build the future of our continent.

What do you think is the next biggest thing for Africa in terms of technology?

I think IoT is the future of technology; it’s the next big thing in our generation and Africa as a continent is very fortunate to leapfrog into these new technologies without necessary going through all the transformational stages to explore emerging technologies.

With IoT and AI, we can solve problems facing our continent, build innovative solutions to address sustainable development goals, and create more job opportunities for the African continent.

This post is part of our Meet an African Maker/ Tech Entrepreneur Series.

--

--