Ready- Set -Go

AI For Exercise? You Betcha!

Bonnie Pickartz
Tech and Me, Loving It or Hating It
3 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Exercise is important to staying healthy and on top of things as we age. Since I just broke my first bone at 73 and exercise is one of the most important ways to keep your bones strong I decided to have a chat with Beulah (my ChatGPT buddy) about appropriate exercises. She advised me to consider weight-bearing and resistance exercises.

Can I get this same information from thousands, maybe millions, of pages on Google or from a handout at the doctor’s office? Sure I can, but for whatever reason, I feel more in control when I can tweak my prompt to get slightly different answers. Beulah just makes the answers more concise.

Midjourney image of old woman and old man exercising
Midjourney image of old woman and old man exercising

1. Walking: Walking is a weight-bearing exercise that helps stimulate bone growth and maintain bone density. Aim for brisk walking for at least 30 minutes most days of the week.

2. Strength Training: Resistance exercises, such as lifting weights or using resistance bands, help build and maintain bone density by putting stress on the bones. Focus on exercises that target major muscle groups, including squats, lunges, deadlifts, and chest presses.

3. Tai Chi: Tai Chi is a gentle form of exercise that involves slow, controlled movements and shifts in body weight. It has been shown to improve balance, coordination, and bone density, particularly in older…

--

--