BAD SOFTWARE

Even ChatGPT Can’t Make Apple Shortcuts Work

Apple, this is awful stuff

Perplexed cartoon character at the edge of a cliff with a sign indicating this is a shortcut.
AI image by ChatGPT from my prompt

I have managed to use Shortcuts to do simple but useful things. For example, I have one that shows us upcoming Calendar entries. This is handy when trying to schedule some new appointment or event.

I like to have a printout that we can just glance at without opening Calendar or that Shortcut. The way I have been doing that is to take a screenshot of the events the Shortcut finds and printing that.

I’d like to print that list out directly but have never been able to make it work. I expressed my frustration to ChatGPT, showed it a screenshot of my existing Shortcut, and it offered this:

To create a shortcut that prints your calendar events to a printer, you can follow these steps using the Shortcuts app on your iPad:

1. Open the Shortcuts App: Launch the Shortcuts app on your iPad.
2. Create a New Shortcut: Tap the “+” icon to create a new shortcut.
3. Add Find Calendar Events Action:
• Add the “Find Calendar…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
Tech and Me, Loving It or Hating It

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.