MONEY

Getting the Medium Daily Earnings Stats Is So Annoying

Medium could easily give us better stats

Two old silver dollars in my hand
Personal photo by author

This is one of the very few annoyances I have with Medium. It would be so easy for them to sort the Stats list by the date of last earning anything. Although I’d prefer an option to show a list of stories sorted by their earnings in the past month, past week, and past day, sorting by the last earnings date would be acceptable.

Yes, I know that I can click in to see earnings. That is clumsy and time consuming. I also know about the Chrome extensions that can extract earnings by story and tell me what I want to know. However, those extensions choke on the large number of stories I have published.

Nor do they give me everything I want. In addition to the amount earned yesterday, I keep a spreadsheet that looks like this:

Spreadsheet with columns for Subscribers, Earnings, Day $ earned, Daycount of reads, Per read, Stories earning money, Monthly Stories that earned and Earning within 30 days
Screenshot of my spreadsheet

I only just started counting how many of the stories that earned money each day were recent.

This spreadsheet tells me how the month is going β€” less money this month, but more than half of last month was from a Boosted story.

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence πŸ‘€
Tech and Me, Loving It or Hating It

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.