MEDIUM

How I Make My Earnings Charts

It takes a little time, but it’s not difficult

A spreadsheet with columns labeled  with dates, Earned, Date Published,and Earned prior to last 30 days. The rows underneath are numbered and contain story titles and amounts that I explain in this article.
Screenshot by author

As I related in a recent story, I have been keeping track of Medium earnings for some time now and have recently extended what I track. Getting that data requires juggling some spreadsheet data but none of it is particularly difficult.

The first thing to do is to grab a screenshot of your Partner Program earnings for today and paste it into a blank spreadsheet. Name it however you like; I’ll call it Yesterday here. Delete everything but the lines with titles and earnings. You’ll end up with something that looks something like this:

Partner earnings pasted into a spreadsheet
Screenshot by author

If you have never tracked earnings before and don’t want to know more than daily earnings, you can stop here unless it’s the beginning of the month and very few of your stories have earned anything for the month yet.

Tomorrow, you would take another screenshot of Partner earnings.

Before we do that, let’s add the published date to the articles that showed up in the Partner earnings. Insert a new column and look up the published date for each story. Note that the lines we pasted in have…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
Tech and Me, Loving It or Hating It

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.