APPLE

Some Good Reasons Not To Buy a New Mac, iPad or iPhone Right Now

You might regret it

--

A wizard hiding behind a tree
AI image by ChatGPT 4 from my prompt

I want to buy a new iPad this year. One reason is that my wife’s iPad is old enough that it may not be able to run IOS 18. She doesn’t need the fanciest iPad, and would probably be happy with the low end base models, but I have always passed down my iPad Pro’s to her when I upgrade.

I don’t absolutely need to upgrade. My M1 iPad Pro is only three years old. Its battery doesn’t last as long as it used to, but I’m always near the charger these days so that’s not important. What I’m starting to find annoying is the screen size — I would like to upgrade to the larger model.

This year I have a new choice. The iPad Air is now available in a 13 inch size (12.9 inches actually) and sports an M2 chip. It would be considerably less expensive than the new M4 iPad Pro and I’m sure I’d find the performance to be better than my current iPad. Why not save some money?

There are some differences. I might miss ProMotion, which is what Apple calls its 120 Hz refresh rate displays. Would it really annoy me not to have that? Probably not.

Losing Face ID would annoy me quite a bit. Depending on how flush I’m feeling when I decide to pull the trigger, that might send me to the M4 all by…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀
Tech and Me, Loving It or Hating It

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.