How to: solve the desktop files and folders disappeared on Mac Finder (2024)

An unexpected issue due to an app’s bug…

MING
Tech Blog Today

--

A new day began and it was time to work. When I tried to double-click on the folder that I used to access daily, I noticed that something was wrong. All the icons on my desktop had disappeared! I checked if I had accidentally enabled Presentation Mode or made any changes to the configuration, but nothing was enabled.

I even tried to log in again, but the problem persisted. I started to panic and wondered if I had accidentally deleted everything from my desktop. However, that made no sense. In a bid to recover my files, I began searching on the internet for any solutions.

How do I find all the hidden files and folders

After conducting some online searches, I suddenly remembered that macOS has a hotkey CMD+Shift+. to reveal all hidden files and folders. Thankfully, it worked and all of my files and folders…

--

--

MING
Tech Blog Today

 WWDC Award Winner | Project Manager, previous Senior Software Engineer, & UI Designer | Contact: hi@1998.media | Website: 1998.media