The top 7 Tech Doodles (and an announcement)

A retrospective

Kiki Schirr
Tech Doodles
Published in
3 min readJan 9, 2017

--

There are about 125 Tech Doodles now and as we’re starting a new year, I was feeling left out, not having my own look-back.

So here are the top 7 Tech Doodles (10 got too long!) Scroll down to the bottom for the announcement.

That poor developer, just wants to be left alone in peace.

I’m equity rich and hard cash poor

I sleep on an air mattress on the floor

It’s bootstrapping, grin and bear it

But on Facebook don’t share it

Fake it ’til you make it and never tell

That this #startuplife is kind of hell.

My mom calls to ask if I’m okay

I grin and tell her today is the day

We’ll get on the Apple App Store

(after all, they can’t say no any more)

This time it’ll be glory not rejection

we’ll be chart-topping, no dejection

Wait, here’s the email from our Apple Overlord…

#startuplife, it’s back to the drawing board.

I’m an entrepreneur don’t you know

Every moment of my day is on the go

The hustle and grind is never done

Until that IPO, I haven’t won

Our dev is tired, our marketer wants to quit

But I rally the team, take none of that shit

There’s code to write, and VCs to greet

#startuplife, ‘till we get that term sheet.

One simple way to avoid this awkwardness: never leave your startup bubble.

4. First, make stuff

I really do believe that results (not effort) provide reward. Make stuff. Build things. Make it happen. But make it happen by getting started now.

Ah, the good old days of 2006, things were so much simpler then…

Thank you for reading (or re-reading!) My announcement is this: I’m intending to do a self-published book of Tech Doodles! To make it feasible, I’ll be doing a Kickstarter so that I only publish as much as there is demand for… if you want in, fill this form out and I’ll contact you when the Kickstarter is live.

--

--

Kiki Schirr
Tech Doodles

Freelance marketer by day, inveterate doodler in all the spaces in between. Current project: A Dog Named Karma. To say hello: mynamenospaces at gee mail Thanks!